Distinguished Clinical Research Nurse Award

IACRN is proud to announce the

2016 Distinguished Clinical
Research Nurse Award Recipient

Shaunagh Browning, MSN, RN, FNP-BC
Nurse Manager, Clinical Research Unit
Georgetown University, USA

Shaunagh Browning started her career in clinical research working as a study coordinator in the endocrinology department of Georgetown University Medical Center in 1991.  Much of the work she did at that time as a study coordinator was learned through on-the-job training.  In 1998 Shaunagh completed her Master’s degree in the family nurse practitioner program at Georgetown University.  She remained in the endocrinology department providing diabetes education, diabetes management and study coordination until 2000.  Shaunagh then spent two years as the clinical nurse specialist for Medtronic MiniMed’s insulin pump program.  January 2003 Shaunagh returned to Georgetown University to manage their NIH funded General Clinical Research Unit.  Through the GCRC Shaunagh became active with the GCRC Nurse Manager Association.  Together with 4 others from that association she helped found the IACRN in the hopes of helping nurses in clinical research gain recognition as a specialty practice and support their work through education and defining best practices.  More recently Shaunagh has spent the past few years helping to create the Scope and Standards document for Research Clinical Nurses and has been instrumental in its submission to ANA for approval.  Shaunagh served as President of IACRN and she currently manages the Georgetown-Howard University Center for Clinical and Translational Science clinical research unit.

Prior Year Recipients:

2010:  Clare Hastings, PhD, RN, FAAN

2011:  Jennifer Allison, RN, AAS, RSCN, MICR

2012:  Margaret McCabe, PhD, RN, PNP-BC

2014:  Mary Larkin, RN, MS, CDE

Linked In
Contact Us
Renew Membership

Return to IACRN.org

report technical issues

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software